Press Release



Galerie Richard in Paris presents ‘Contemporary Photographies’, by Bae Bien-U, Dionisio González, and Olaf Rauh from January 16 to February 28, 2021. Presenting both argentic black and white photographs and digital color photographs, the exhibition expresses two generations.

 

 

 

Bae Bien-U was already the best known photographer in South Korea when we met him in 1998. First gallery to have presented it in Europe, the series of the Kyung-Ju forest is the one with which he gained national  and international recognition. The high winds in this region of South Korea twist, carve the pines giving them a dreamlike presence.

 

 

 

 

Dionisio González invents digital constructions in places in response to social, political and environmental issues.The 2012 Trans-Acciones color series and the 2013 black and white Inter-Acciones series feature individual homes that can overcome any sea level rise. The landscapes of Alabama in the United States and Spain and the people and animals included therein are not altered.

 

 

Paninsula is a fictitious tropical paradise island ignored by geographers, where each one builds his house in lush vegetation and finds a peace away from the hustle and bustle of the world. Olaf Rauh «built» literally these dwellings, pixel by pixel, recognizable by their geometric forms contrasting with the curvatures of the vegetal orld. This series created in 2007 takes even more resonance in this coronavirus period.

Communiqué de presse



 Galerie Richard à Paris présente « Photographies Contemporaines », une exposition regroupant Bae-Bien-U, Dionisio González, Olaf Rauh du 16 janvier au 28 février 2021. « Photographies Contemporaines » montre à la fois une photographie argentique classique et la photographie digitale.

 

Bae Bien-U était déjà le photographe le plus connu en Corée du Sud quand nous avons fait sa connaissance en 1998. Première galerie à l’avoir présenté en Europe, la série de la forêt du Kyung-Ju est celle avec laquelle il a accédé à la reconnaissance nationale, puis internationale. Les vents violents dans cette région du sud de la Corée tordent, sculptent les pins et leur donnent une présence onirique.

 

Dionisio González invente des constructions fictives numériques à des paysages existants en réponse à des problématiques, sociales, politiques, environnementales. La série Inter-Acciones en noir et blanc de 2013 et la série en couleur Trans-Acciones de 2012 présentent des habitations individuelles qui peuvent surmonter toute élévation du niveau des océans. 

 

Paninsula représente fictivement une île tropicale paradisiaque ignorée des géographes où chacun construit sa maison au sein d’une végétation luxuriante et y trouve une paix à l’écart de l’agitation du monde. Olaf Rauh « construit » littéralement ces habitations, pixel par pixel, reconnaissables par leur formes géométriques contrastant avec les courbures du monde végétal. Cette série créée en 2007 prend encore plus de résonance en cette période de coronavirus.